What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. This is very important as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experiences should be happy, active, exiting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.

Call us on:

01444 241491

The Tudor House Nursery Group is registered to deliver the EYFS and we must follow Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (2017) (EYFS)

It sets out:
• The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare
• The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge.
• Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS.
• Expected levels that your child should reach at age of 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the Early Learning Goals (ELGs)

The nurseries also use Early Years Outcomes and Development Matters as guidance in planning learning activities, and observing and assessing what and how children are learning and developing.

How my child will be learning

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.
Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Our nurseries will promote the three prime areas of learning with the youngest of our children:
• communication and language
• physical development and
• personal, social and emotional development

These three prime areas are the most important for your child’s healthy development and future learning.
As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop 4 specific areas.

These are:
• literacy
• mathematics
• understanding the world and
• expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Children in the EYFS learning by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outdoors.

If you are looking for new ideas for things to do to support your child’s learning please ask at your nursery where we can give advice about the kinds of books or other activities your child might enjoy at different ages.

If you would like to find out more about the Early Years Foundation Stage please visit the website www.foundationyears.org.uk where you can find a range of resources and contacts.